1. K-State home
  2. »Research and Extension
  3. »Sedgwick
  4. »About
  5. »Our Leadership / Staff
  6. »Executive Board and Council

Sedgwick County

Sedgwick County
7001 W. 21st Street N.
Wichita, KS  67205
Map & Location

Office Hours:
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Monday - Friday


Executive Board and Council

2024 Executive Board

Janet Sprecker, chair
Travis Inskeep, vice-chair
Karla Jahn, treasurer
Patty Rosenhagen, secretary

Raven Alexander, at-large
Jeannie Ciemny, at-large
Peggy Griffith, at-large
John Oswald, at-large
Justin Shore, at-large

Program Development Committee (PDC) Members / Extension Council Members

The Program Development Committees each consist of six elected members that represent the community. The election is held each October, and every eligible voter in Sedgwick County may come vote. PDC members work together with extension agents to develop local programming throughout the year and promote the mission of K-State Research and Extension. Kansas extension county laws require four program development committees, with six or more members serving on each committee. In counties, members of the committees are elected, and additional members may be appointed. 

There are four PDC areas: Agriculture and Natural Resources, Community Vitality, Family and Consumer Sciences, and 4-H Youth Development. Each of the four areas hosts six elected PDC members with a term that lasts two years.

4-H Youth Development

Empowering youth to reach their full potential by working and learning in patnership with caring adults is at the heart of 4-H. This PDC works to develop programming that best fits the needs of kids through after-school programs, school and community clubs, and 4-H camp.

NamePDC Term Ends
LaWanda DeShazer2025
Mel Hussey2025*
Corey Lyons2025*
Stephanie Hays (secretary)2024
Janet Sprecker 2024
Melanie Turner (chair)2024

* Denotes second term

Agriculture and Natural Resources

This PDC works to establish programming that serves area producers,
growers, farmers, and individuals interested in community beautification.

NamePDC Term Ends
Peggy Griffith (secretary)2025
Karla Jahn2025*
Alan Venjohn (chair)2025
Aaron Pauly2024*
Travis Inskeep2024
Jon Seymour 2024

* Denotes second term

Community Vitality

Building community is essential to the mission of Extension. This PDC
strives to create a vision across traditional geographical, sociological, and
political boundaries by promoting Extension activities and creating program
opportunities that assist civic leaders in Sedgwick County.

NamePDC Term Ends
Susan Hussey2025*
Lori Lohrenz (secretary)2025
Jan Long2025
Jeannie Ciemny 2024
Russel Fox (chair)2024
John Oswald2024

* Denotes second term

Family and Consumer Sciences

Creating healthy and sustainable families is central to the work of family and
consumer sciences. Members of the FCS PDC aim to develop programs that
meet the needs of today’s families when it comes to health, nutrition, family
resources, adult development and personal growth.

NamePDC Term Ends
Raven Alexander (secretary)2025
Justin Shore2025
Janae Trapp (chair)2025
Teresa Molina 2024
Patty Rosenhagen2024
cayla Wasson2024

* Denotes second term

Resources for Local Board Members

Board Leadership Modules
Board Leadership Modules
Year-End Summary (pdf)
Excellence in Board Leadership 
Assessment (pdf)
Board Excellence Newsletter