4-H Advisory Council

The purpose of the Sedgwick County 4-H Advisory Council is to be a nonprofit organization, utilizing private resources, to support and promote Sedgwick County 4-H youth achievements in the areas of leadership, education, citizenship, personal development and their related activities.

There are four standing committees that function throughout the year and their duties include but are not limited to:

  • Finance/Budget Committee: Develop a budget to support all aspects of the 4-H program including new and expanding audiences. Work with the board and 4-H clubs to develop the resources necessary to reach that goal.
  • Selection Committee: This group meets to interview applicants for trips sponsored by the Foundation. These include but are not limited to: Kansas City Global, Citizenship Washington Focus, National 4-H Congress, and scholarships.
  • Carnival Committee: Develop and implement the county-wide 4-H carnival. This includes promotion to the clubs and encouraging club booth participation, coordinating Chris and Crystal Clover, pre-ticket sales, room arrangement, atmosphere, ticket sales the night of the carnival, counting money and tickets, and preparation of balance sheet.

4-H Advisory Council Officers and Members:
President - Dirk Schill, Country Kids
Vice President - Chris Baalmann, Ninnescah Valley
Secretary - Nate Bennett, Country Kids
Co-Treasurer - Jennifer Wyant, Derby
Co-Treasurer - Chris Mies, Quail Valley
Member at Large - Jon Reed, Achievers
Member at Large - Julie Crow, Achievers
Teen Council Rep - Carlie Schill, Country Kids and Katrina Turner, Derby

To sign up click here.

Important Links

4-H Calendar 2022-2023

Kansas 4-H Online Registration

School Enrichment Programs

Contact Information

Have Questions? Contact:

Sedgwick County
4-H Youth Development
7001 W. 21st St. North
Wichita, KS 67205-1759
(316) 660-0115

Stephanie Hays
4-H Program Manager
(316) 660-0111